Curriculum Overview


Our aim is to provide our children with an engaging, exciting and empowering curriculum that equips them for today and tomorrow. At Priestley Primary School, the curriculum is designed to: recognise children’s prior learning, provide first-hand learning experiences, allow the children to develop interpersonal skills, build resilience and become aspirational, creative, critical thinkers. Every child is recognised as a unique individual.


We celebrate and welcome differences within our school community. The ability to learn is underpinned by the teaching of basic skills, knowledge, concepts and values with a vision to prepare them for life beyond primary school. We constantly provide enrichment opportunities to engage learning. We believe that childhood should be a happy, investigative and enquiring time in our lives, where there are no limits to curiosity and there is a thirst for new experiences and knowledge.


We use our Priestley Values in order to learn like Spikey (Respect for All, Give it a Go, Cooperate, Take Responsibility, Share Great Ideas, Stay Focused, Think Things Through) to promote positive attitudes to learning which reflect the values and skills needed to promote responsibility for learning and future success. Children leave Priestley with a sense of belonging to a community where they have the skills to make decisions, self-evaluate, make connections and become lifelong learners with the confidence to explore life in modern Britain.


Learning like Spikey

Our curriculum will give children the opportunity to learn:


  • Respect for All - To respect the opinions and positive behaviour choices of others

  • Share Great Ideas - Be free to express views or ideas

  • Cooperate - Work collaboratively in their learning, to appreciate the views of others and develop the skills to resolve conflict

  • Responsibility - Recognise right and wrong, respect the law and understand consequences of their actions

  • Give it a Go - Face all challenges with curiosity and positivity in order to build resilience and develop a thirst for new experiences and knowledge

  • Stay Focused - Commit to their learning and be able to manage distractions to achieve to the best of their ability

  • Think Things Through - Know what to do when you don't know what to do

  • Cultural - Appreciate cultural influences; appreciate the role of Britain’s democratic system; participate in culture opportunities; understand, accept, respect and celebrate diversity

  • Spiritual - Explore beliefs, experience and faiths, feelings and values; enjoy learning about oneself, others and the surrounding world; use imagination and creativity and reflect on experiences


At Priestley, we value these principles because we place learning at the heart of all we do.


Priestley Curriculum Overview


Key Stage 1

Lower Key Stage 2

Upper Key Stage 2



spikey pic.jpg